Med School Maladies and Other Anecdotes

The life, times and farcicality of an ambitious med student

So this is the New Year

on January 7, 2013

2013 new year sparkler

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.”

-Mark Twain

What is it about the new year? It makes us stop, think, and reevaluate. We always think, “What can I do differently? How can I improve?” I always hope that as a new year comes I will be a better version of my previous self. This year I have decided a few BIG things. I am making some new resolutions to improve myself and make this year the best yet.

1. I am making a huge commitment…and getting a fish. Unfortunately, I forgot the tank at home so I have to wait a few weeks to get my little son. However, I feel that this is a huge step to be taking the responsibility for a young life.  I am sure it will teach me all about how to care for another (something which I bet will be useful for when I am a doctor). Hopefully this new beautiful fish lives longer than King Melchiore and Queen Elizabeth, the previous residents of the fish tank. The King and Queen were hermit crabs which we purchased when I was in 6th grade. They lasted one night and then died tragically. I can remember running to the tank to play with the King and Queen (side note: how does one play with a hermit crab? I have no idea what I planned to do after reaching the tank), only to discover their untimely deaths. Fortunately, since this year is sure to be the best yet, my new babe fish will break the curse of that tank and live at least a month.

2. This blog- maybe I will keep it up! Someone has to document all the absurdities that occur here at IUSM. Classes start tomorrow morning and I feel that the maladies will start tomorrow morning at 7 AM. Then the stories will start rolling in.

3. The standard “workout and take care of my body” resolution. This is a resolution everyone makes. I am hoping to last longer than the standard month. Hopefully I outlast the crowds.

4. I intend not to have bad days. No longer will a rain cloud be over my head. But rather, I intend to look on the bright side of EVERY situation. I want to look for the silver lining in every cloud to be exact.

Those are all the resolutions for this year. I will do my best to keep them. Hopefully, you all will maintain your resolution as well. Happy New Year and may it be your best year as well.

Leave a Reply

